The Magnificent Ambersons (CR)

Since JJ already filled you in on the plot, I won’t waste your time and just get straight to the point. I personally really enjoyed this book. I don’t know why, but I love spoiled, rich characters like Georgie Minafer. At times his attitude was so unbelievable that I couldn’t help being fascinated by him. I agree with JJ though about Georgie’s mom. She was really annoying and seemed kind of stupid because she couldn’t see how spoiled and heartless her son was. Either that or she chose to ignore it. Either way, the way she was obsessed with her son was a little much.

All in all, the story was really good and I couldn’t put the book down. I pretty much agree with everything JJ said so there’s really not any point in repeating it. The only thing is that I couldn’t tell that the author was racist through the book. There were, of course, the comments about the black servants and such, but you kind of expect that in a book written in the point of view of the Old South people. I’m not saying the author wasn’t racist, but I don’t think it ruins the book and it shouldn’t stop you from reading it.

The Magnificent Ambersons was definitely a great read and a great way to start off our list. I give it a 19/20. Now it’s off to The Ginger Man. If only I could find it….

Posted on February 5, 2012, in Books. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

