The Beginning

So, this is my last post as a sane human being (if it could ever be said I was sane). I will be undertaking my 176 book journey after midterms next week starting with THE MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS by Booth Tarkington.  In case you couldn’t tell I will be putting book titles in caps, since they are quite obviously the only important part of this undertaking.

I will not be talking about the author, other than their name, unless there is some direct correlation in the book such as it being semi-autobiographal.  The reason for this is that the books should speak for themselves.  No one should ever have to know about the author to understand the book (however I do believe that the author’s background is important, just not necessary, and why include unnecessary information?).

My own rules that I have set up for myself are all somewhere within my about page, and my first post.

Other than my posts on the books, I will write random updates on my reading, especially the long ones (I’m especially dreading GONE WITH THE WIND, because I saw the movie, and I detest Scarlett O’Hara, and it’s excruciatingly long).  I may post random personal posts sometimes, like my overflowing joy when summer comes, or some college stuff next year when I’m a senior.  Between Books, Updates, and Personal expect 2 or 3 posts a week.

I’ll see you when the insanity of midterms end, and the insanity of this journey begins.

JJ

About AroundtheML

I'm a teenager who's decided to broaden my literary knowledge by reading the Modern Library's 100 Best Novels.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Terrific project – when I was growing up The Modern Library and The Portable series were my introduction to great – and sometimes not so great – literature. Good luck and I’ll be following your progress.

    • I got the idea after looking at the AP Literature reading list and looking up Invisible Man. When I found Invisible Man, I looked at it on Wikipedia, and on the page saw a link to the Modern Library’s 100 best novels. I looked that up and found the edrants.com page on the challenge, and decided I would do it, plus the Radcliffe since it was picked by a younger group. I’m glad to know that I have my first dedicated follower. I may add one of my friends, and she can add a female perspective to the blog haha.

  2. I’ve not read it, but I’ve often heard GONE WITH THE WIND referred to as one of the great overlooked novels of the 20th Century. I’ll look forward to your thoughts!

    • I didn’t like the movie for the sole reason that Scarlett O’Hara is way too manipulative… However, I do believe I’ve been told the book is much better. I can’t wait to hear your feedback!

  3. I’ve been working my way through a couple of book lists myself and I have read Gone with the Wind, as well as many of the other books on your list. You have some great books ahead of you.
    I wasn’t looking forward to Gone with the wind and I was very pleasantly surprised. It’s actually rather good. I had some difficulty in putting it down once I’d started it and it’s not a genre I ususally like. Hope you have a similar experience.

Leave a Reply

